Aether Mists used to be 8 countries but a rogue wizard accidentally created a demon invasion by toying with powers he should not have been in the country of Kotril, the demon horde quickly swept over that country and started spilling into the neighboring countries. An combined army was formed between the remaining countries to try and beat back the horde but even the combined forces were losing ground. That was when the Wizards Guild of Zora created the Shield Wall, a magical item that created a barrier along the border of Kotril, sealing in the demons and allowing the army to retake the rest of the lost land. To project it The Shield Wall was then broken into seven parts, each one given to a country for safe keeping. That was 1200 years ago.

Shield of the Seven Parts